Marathon week

Marathon week; where to start?

We landed from Sydney on Monday, and Tuesday I went back to work followed by going to Watford v Southampton that evening. On Wednesday, I started to come down with a cold and started to feel extremely rough…

Having got through marathon training without any injuries, to come down with a cold at the last minute was really frustrating. It started as a sniffle and sore throat, but then got progressively worse. I left work an hour on Thursday, and then the stress really started to hit.

On Friday, I made the decision to ask Matt to go to the Expo for me to collect my number. Numbers must be collected in person, but I simply didn’t have the energy to finish work and then travel to and from the Excel Centre. This definitely started to increase my stress levels, and I cried for the first time that week. I felt collecting my number was a big part of the marathon experience, and I was concerned.

I didn’t want to eat but was trying to hydrate lots. I was due to go to Southampton v Bournemouth on the Saturday and really didn’t want to, but was persuaded doing something and taking my mind off things might do me good and I went (with a lift from friends which was appreciated!). I also squeezed in a last minute sports massage before heading to central London where I had a hotel room booked for Saturday and Sunday nights.

The week hadn’t gone to plan, but that was it; marathon time!

If you’d like to sponsor me for the London Landmarks Half Marathon and the London Marathon 2019 for Dementia Revolution, you can do so here.

Leave a comment